Skip to main content
Email Subscription

To sign up for email updates from Macomb County or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your email address. If you would like to subscribe for text alerts please select Text Updates in the drop-down menu.

Circuit Court
40 N Main, Mount Clemens, MI 48043
(586) 469-5208

Commissions

Charter

The Macomb County Clerk's Office, under the leadership of the Macomb County Clerk, acted as the official Clerk for the Macomb County Charter Commission. Charter Commission Meeting Minutes and Agendas were recorded and maintained by the Macomb County Clerk's Office.

On May 6, 2008, Macomb County voters decided to “elect a charter commission for the purpose of framing and submitting to the electorate of the county a county home rule charter under the constitution and laws of Michigan.”

The Charter Commission was elected on Nov. 4, 2008 and began their work at their first meeting Dec. 4, 2008. In June of 2009 a proposed draft was submitted and approved by Governor Jennifer Granholm and was put on the ballot for the November 2009 election.

On Nov. 3, 2009, Macomb County voters adopted the proposed county charter. Under this charter Macomb County will have 13 commissioners and an elected county executive.

The Apportionment Commission approved a new district map for the 13
districts on March 13, 2010. CLICK HERE to access this new district maps. Elections for the new offices will take place in 2010 and be effective January 1, 2011.

Download Macomb County Vital Records Request Form

CLICK HERE to download a .pdf file of the final version of the Macomb County Charter approved by the Macomb County Charter Commission on June 17, 2009 and by the Governor on July 21, 2009.

Click here to download a letter from Gov. Jennifer Granholm

CLICK HERE to download a .pdf file of the letter sent by Gov. Jennifer Granholm regarding the proposed charter for Macomb County drafted by the Macomb County Charter Commission.

CLICK HERE for "Q & A About the Macomb County Charter Commission’s Work" by Executive Director Ralph "Skip" Maccarone

Charter Commission Office:

Chair: Jacob Michael Femminineo, Jr. jacob.femminineo@macombcountymi.gov 
Executive Director: Ralph "Skip" Maccarone 
Administrative Assistant: Edie LaBarge edie.labarge@macombcountymi.gov

Address: 10 North Main Street, 6th Floor, Mount Clemens, MI 48043
Phone Number: 586-463-2674
Fax Number: 586-463-2603
E-mail: charter@macombcountymi.gov  

Clerk's Office:
Address: 40 North Main Street, 1st Floor, Mount Clemens, MI 48043
Phone Number: 586-469-5348
Fax Number: 877-443-9505
E-mail: clerksoffice@macombgov.org

Macomb County Charter Commissioners

DISTRICT 1

Matthew J. Wroblewski (D)
25195 Pineview 
Warren, MI 48091
586-755-9575
matthew.wroblewski@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 2

David A. Willis (D)
8155 Virginia Park 
Center Line, MI 48015
586-350-6845 (cell) 
david.willis@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 3

James F. Kelly (D)
15346 Veronica
Eastpointe, MI 48021
586-530-2776 (cell)
james.kelly@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 4

Louis J. Burdi (D)
4901 N. Grand Oaks Dr.
Warren, MI 48092
586-573-8595
louis.burdi@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 5

Robert W. Slavko (D)
31219 Lund
Warren, MI 48093
586-977-5648 (home)
586-413-1435 (cell)
robert.slavko@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 6

John Olekszyk (D)
15048 Chippewa
Warren, MI 48088
586-293-2658
john.oleksyk@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 7

Elisabeth Sierawski (D)
40426 William,
Sterling Heights, MI 48313
586-713-8529 (cell)
586-977-0143 (home)
elisabeth.sierawski@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 8

Donna S. Cangemi (D)
11235 Hemlock Dr.
Sterling Heights, MI 48312
586-506-3302 (cell)
586-264-3302 (home)
586-465-5292 (work)
donna.cangemi@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 9

Dr. Michael G. Gielniak (D)
3638 Brandi Dr.
Sterling Heights, MI 48310
586-264-1996 (home)
586-216-1996 (cell)
michael.gielniak@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 10

Rick Flynn (D)
43225 Chardonnay,
Sterling Heights, MI 48314
586-228-0100 (work)
586-731-0088 (home)
rick.flynn@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 11

Dominic J. La Rosa (D)
13515 Parkridge Dr.
Shelby Twp., MI 48315
586-739-8885 (home)
586-915-8898 (cell)
dominic.larosa@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 12

Vincent Viviano (R)
6705 St. Andrews,
Shelby Twp., MI 48316
586-992-2616 (home)
vince.viviano@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 13

Gary S. Anthony (R)
11050 Wealthy Lane
Bruce Twp., MI 48065
gary.anthony@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 14

James Haggerty (D)
5008 County Line Rd.
Lenox Twp., MI 48048
586-270-6022 (home)
james.haggerty@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 15

Harry Awdey (R)
PO Box 331
Armada, MI 48005
586-473-6178 (work)
harry.awdey@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 16

Tom Rombach (D)
43597 Hillsboro
Clinton Twp., MI 48038
586-263-4520 (home)
586-725-3000 (cell)
tom.rombach@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 17

Jacob Michael Femminineo, Jr. (D)
110 South Main
Mount Clemens, MI 48043
jacob.femminineo@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 18

Carrie Lynn Fuca (D)
41265 Windmill
Harrison Twp., MI 48045
586-493-4436 (home)
586-295-5566 (cell)
carrie.fuca@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 19

Robert W. Smith, Jr. (D)
39324 Eliot
Clinton Twp., MI 48036
586-489-4590
bob.smith@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 20

Marilyn Lane (D)
16558 Wood Lane
Fraser, MI 48026
586-484-1636 (cell)
marilyn.lane@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 21

Nick Ciaramitaro (D)
19473 Candlelight St.
Roseville, MI 48066
(586) 296-5378
nick.ciaramitaro@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 22

Judy Hartwell (D)
26271 Barbara St.
Roseville, MI 48066
586-778-1532
judy.hartwell@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 23

James Maceroni (D)
48 N. Walnut
Mount Clemens, MI 48043
586-463-8530 (work)
james.maceroni@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 24

Cynthia Konal (D)
21715 St. Gertrude
St. Clair Shores, MI 48081
586-291-4246 (cell)
cynthia.konal@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 25

Charles Medley (R)
52353 Creek Ln.
Chesterfield, MI 48047
586-716-0317 (home)
586-382-0278 (cell)
586-307-9588
charles.medley@macombcountymi.gov

DISTRICT 26

Monika Kreft Leasure (D)
18100 Ash Creek
Macomb Twp., MI 48044
586-263-3757 (home)
586-228-3513 (work)
monika.leasure@macombcountymi.gov

Related Documents

CLICK HERE for "Q & A About the Macomb County Charter Commission’s Work" by Executive Director Ralph "Skip" Maccarone

CLICK HERE for Public Forum Handout (Committee Report Package (April 29, 2009)

CLICK HERE for Macomb County Charter Commission Executive Director's Report (Feb. 22, 2009)

CLICK HERE for Macomb County Charter Commission Executive Director's Report (March 22, 2009)

CLICK HERE for details about the Open Meetings Act and Freedom of Information Act.

CLICK HERE for Macomb County Charter Commission Adopted By-Laws

CLICK HERE for Charter Counties Act 293 of 1966

CLICK HERE for Optional Unified Form of County Government Act 139 of 1973

CLICK HERE for May 6, 2008 Ballot Proposal and Voting Results

CLICK HERE for Charter Commission Bi-Weekly Budget Report (06-10-09)