Skip to main content
Email Subscription

To sign up for email updates from Macomb County or to access your subscriber preferences, please enter your email address. If you would like to subscribe for text alerts please select Text Updates in the drop-down menu.

16th Judicial Circuit Court
40 N Main, Mount Clemens, MI 48043
(586) 469-5208

Commissioner Carabelli Elected to Chair SEMCOG County Bloc

SHELBY TWP., Mich. – Commissioner Jim Carabelli was elected as the Chair of SEMCOG’s County Bloc Caucus and as a Delegate to their Regional Clearinghouse Review Committee. Carabelli has been involved with SEMCOG since 2010.

“The County Bloc Caucus is a crucial piece of regional integration,” said Carabelli. “If we want to continue to grow and improve Southeast Michigan, all seven counties need to work together.”

Carabelli has served previously on the Regional Clearinghouse Review Committee and has been re-appointed for another term. “It’s great to see grant money being sent to important projects around the region,” he said. “Just recently, almost $1.4mil was approved for Macomb County projects from the Transportation Alternatives Program for safe pedestrian and bike pathways.”

The elections were held at the June 22 SEMCOG meeting. The terms lasts until June 2018.

Other notable Macomb County individuals elected to SEMCOG position are: 
Michael Lesich, Fraser Councilmember – Vice Chair of City and Village Bloc Caucus;
Suzanne Pixley, Eastpointe Mayor, Delegate to Regional Clearinghouse Review Committee;
Florence Hayman, New Baltimore Councilmember – Alternate Delegate to Regional Clearinghouse Review Committee;
Steven Wietecha, Roseville Councilmember – Delegate to Transportation Coordinating Council;
Don Hubler, Macomb ISD Board Secretary – Delegate to Transportation Coordinating Council